The Canadian Birkebeiner has established some special awards over our long history.  Here are the unique ones.

Haakon Haakonsson Award

This award is exclusive to the Canadian Birkebeiner and awards skiers who have skied in the Norwegian, American and Canadian Birkebeiner long distance events. Skiers from all over Canada, many from the USA, and other international skiers have won this award. More

Ole Hovind Award

The Ole Hovind Award is presented annually to the skier who best represents the spirit of the Birkebeiner and the things which Ole Hovind valued – skiing for the sheer joy of it, having fun, joking a lot, achieving something and just getting out there and doing it.  More

John Toonen Memorial Award

The John Toonen Memorial Award was donated by John’s wife, Margaret, and has been presented to a variety of skiers; the oldest skier in a 55 km event, the youngest in a 55 km event, the last finisher of the event, international skiers and other skiers deemed worthy. More

Founders’ and Builders’ Award

The Founders’ & Builders’ Award is presented to an individual who worked to create the Canadian Birkebeiner Ski Festival and/or who has been a key contributor to growing this event over the years. More

The Coloured Bibs

Wondering why some skiers are wearing a red, blue or purple cloth bib?
Click here for more information.